Level IV WVSU CON representative, Jean Ceza S. Betalac, along with her adviser, Mrs. Marianne G. Sotelo, won first place in the student category poster presentation at the 10th Manila Doctors College of Nursing Research Congress last January 18, 2017.


West Visayas State University - College of Nursing sent three students, Fel Joseph O. Cantor, Angelie C. Cabañez, and Jean Ceza S. Betalac, to each represent their groups’ research and to join in the 10th Manila Doctors College of Nursing Research Congress at the Manila Tytana Colleges, Pasay City. With them, were Mr. Ryan Michael F. Oducado, WVSU CON’s Research Coordinator and their advisers, Prof. Willah D. Gorriceta and Mrs. Marianne G. Sotelo to support the students and to also participate in the research congress. Mr. Cantor and Ms. Betalac were chosen to present in the poster exhibit while Ms. Cabañez was chosen to do an oral presentation in the parallel session.


This year’s research congress had more than 300 participants both students and professionals from different nursing schools and medical institutions nationwide to showcase their research papers and to involve in the discussion of innovative evidence-based nursing practices through research.

The morning session of the research congress consisted of the opening ceremony, welcome remarks, keynote address, and a plenary discussion. The keynote address was given by Dr. Cora A. Añonuevo, member of the Board of Nursing of the Professional Regulation Commission. This year’s plenary discussion focused on the “Cross Cultural Nursing Research: Perspective and Experiences” with Dr. Michael C. Leocadio from Sultan Qaboos University, Oman as speaker. After lunch, the afternoon session preceded with the simultaneous judging of the poster and podium presentation.


By the closing ceremony, “Awareness and Acceptability of Generic Medications among Attendants of Patients Admitted in a Government Hospital” by Jean Ceza Betalac, Angela Mae Carmen, Felixes De Vera, Darlyne Esposo, and Kimberly Ann Alcazaren and adviser Mrs. Marianne Sotelo was awarded best poster student category in the poster competition.